Faculty Advisors
 ASSA Paper Session
Link Outstanding Service Award
National Office
 Contact Us
 About Us
The American Economist

Faculty Advisor Newsletter

Biennial Convention
John R. Commons Award
ODE  Display Booth at ASSA
ODE Distinguished Advisor Award
Invited Student Session at ASSA 
Faculty Reception at ASSA
Central Office Location
Graduation Cords, Stoles and Medallions
Membership forms

Biennial Convention

The next Biennial Convention will be held during the ASSA meetings in Philadelphia in 2018. Chapters are invited to attend and encouranged to vote on the slate of officers for the ODE Executive Board for 2018-2020, which will take place at that meeting.

John R. Commons Award

The 2016 Commons Award was presented to PAUL ROMER of New York University at the 2016 Commons Lecture during the ASSA meetings in San Francisco. The next Commons Award and Lecture will be at the Biennial Convention in 2018, in conjunction with the ASSA meetings in January 2018 in Philadelphia.

ODE  Display Booth at ASSA

ODE will again be represented at the annual meeting of ASSA in Philadelphia in January 2018.   Please come visit our booth.

ODE  Distinguished Advisor Award

ODE will again present the Distinguished Advisor Award for outstanding work with ODE in 2018. Nominations (including self-nominations) are currently being called for and will be accepted until August 31, 2017.

Below: The recipient of the 2016 Distinguished Advisor Award was presented to Dr. David Chaplin for his outstanding work with ODE and the chapter at Northwest Nazarene University. Dr Chaplin said, " I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the Executive Board of ODE. This recognition will be a source of pride for myself and the Delta Chapter of Idaho here at Northwest Nazarene University for many years to come."

ODE Faculty Advisor Reception

An ODE Faculty Advisor Reception was held during the ASSA meetings in Chicago, allowing chapter advisors to meet the Board and other advisors and exchanges ideas. We invite all chapter advisors to join us in Philadelphia in January 2018.

Invited Student Session at ASSA 

          The ODE Invited Graduate Student Session in Chicago in January was exceptional. Four graduate students presented and discussed papers in this session, presided over by ODE VP and President-Elect Stacey Jones. Papers and Presenter/Discussants were: "The Effects of Dating Violence during Adolescence on Educational Attainment and Labor Market Outcomes" - Jacqueline Strenio, University of Utah;" Valuing Carbon Abatement Benefits of Intermittent Renewable Energy" - Miguel Castro, Michigan State University; "Foreign Direct Investment and Intellectual Property Protection in Developing Countries" -Michael A. Klein, Indiana University; and "The Impact of Health Insurance on Heart Attack Outcomes" - Rachel G. Childers, University of Kansas.

Central Office Location

    When mailing materials to the central office in Fairhope, AL, the address is:

        PO Box 2096,
        Fairhope, AL 36533

    For UPS and FedEx, the physical address is 19 S. Summit St., No. 9, Fairhope, AL 36532.

Graduation Cords, Stoles and Medallions

    The Central Office has graduation cords (royal and gold) available.  The cost is $10.00 for a set sent to one location.  For multiple cords sent to the same location, the prices are:

         2-20    $9.00 each
         > 20    $8.00 each

    We offer gold stoles with royal blue screen printing.  On one end of the stole is the ODE key with the word HONORS on the other end.  The cost of the stoles is $20 for one.  For multiple stoles sent to the same address the prices are:

         2-10    $19.00
         > 10    $18.00

    The Medallions are bronze with a basel around the outside and the ODE key in the middle.  They are on blue ribbon.  The cost of these is $40.00.

    If you would like to order any of these items for your ODE members for graduation, please let us know.   

Membership forms

    New membership forms are available for download with the correct prices for dues and for the jewelry and plaques.  Please destroy all obsolete forms. Use of these forms may result in underpayment, which can delay processing.  We no longer provide 2-part forms. All forms should be downloaded from the website. Send us one copy and keep a copy for your files. 


ODE is pleased to welcome to the Executive Board, Dr. J.J. Arias of Georgia College and State University and Dr. Rod Raehsler of Clarion University in the positions of Vice President.

The winner of the 2017 Frank W. Taussig Award is Elizabeth Samios of Christopher Newport University. Her paper, "The Effectiveness of Alexander Hamilton's Debt Assumption Plan and the Lasting Effect of His Economic Intervention," is eligible for submission to the American Economist.

The 2017 Distinguished Advisor Award goes to Dr. Daren Conrad of the University of the West Indies. ODE appreciates Dr. Conrad's dedication to the society, the chapter at UWI, and his students.

Dr. David Colander of Middlebury College was the recipient of the 2017 John R. Commons Award. Dr. Colander delivered the Commons Lecture, "The Scope and Method of Applied Policy Economics: The Courage to Be Utopian," at the ASSA meetings in Philadelphia in early January.

Omicron Delta Epsilon is proud to be a member of ACHS
Association of College Honor Societies